Gothic Girls! A not particularly serious ponder.

Ok so, obviously they’re not ALL attractive, and we’ve all heard the jokes, “I love the way they pretend to be ugly on purpose” etc etc. But lets face it, what man can say that, at some point or other, he hasn’t taken a sidelong glance at one of these hauntingly morbid, living-dead, panda girls and though “actually, she’s pretty fit!”? Come on, own up to it!

Despite the fact that, quite frankly, some of them give me the willies, there is a certain alluring mystique about the whole sinister, macabre thing. The black clothes; the makeup; the dark imagery; the mysterious and enigmatic persona.

Maybe it’s akin to the fixation we seem to have with vampires? A sort of promise of forbidden pleasures; dark primeval sexuality lurking beneath the surface? Actually, I have no idea what it’s all about. But for some reason I cant help thinking, as Russel Brand would put it, ooh e’citing!

Anyway, pushing me to such pondering was a British TV show called Off the Hook, which is about a group of four young English university students sharing a student accommodation flat. I really enjoyed it, perhaps not quite as good as The Inbetweeners, but still a good laugh. Anyway, in the second half of the first series a character gets introduced who’s this strange gothic’ish girl who seems to practice the dark arts and taxidermy. Needless to say I found said girl inexplicably attractive, though should I meet someone like that I’d most likely run a mile. It did got me a’pondering ow’ever.

About tobias 'lockhart'

Hello there, I’m Tobias. I’m male; in my late 20s, straight and eccentric. I’m finally beginning to accept that I’m really not your typical bloke; but that’s probably alright. Although my interests are many and varied, my primary areas of said interest tend toward art; fashion and costume; and that which sits or sprawls somewhere between them. I have a Diploma in Performance Technology, Majoring in Wardrobe/Costume; and you might say a Doctorate in being indecisive with post graduate honors in being not entirely sure what I want to do. Welcome to my musings on life, fashion and other things. etc.
This entry was posted in Thoughts and Musings and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

