Gothic Tango

In what now feels like another life, I used to do ‘Dance sport’, competitive Ballroom and Latin American dancing. I always had a particular soft spot for tango, I think it was the drama of it or something, anyway I decided at some point over the last year to do this digital painting of a couple dancing tango, but I wanted to make them sort of Gothic, or hard edged and modern in some way.

Gothic'ish couple dancing Tango

Gothic'ish Tango

Click on the image above to take you to the bigger image on my deviantArt page. The reason the quality looks terrible on her legs is because of the moiré effect of her fishnets.

I think I may at some point do another version and make the background and lighting more like some kind of night club.

Originally I sketched over a photo to just to get the basic pose and then I altered the clothing and so on. I had to work out the shape/angle of the girl’s hip and upper thigh section because in the reference pic she was wearing a knee length skirt.

Oh also, as a friend pointed out, the bloke somehow ended up looking a little like me haha I suppose I subconsciously do that, a bit like role playing or dressing up in costume. Vicariously living life through my art? Nothing sad about that at all ;p

Anyway hope you likes it ;D

About tobias 'lockhart'

Hello there, I’m Tobias. I’m male; in my late 20s, straight and eccentric. I’m finally beginning to accept that I’m really not your typical bloke; but that’s probably alright. Although my interests are many and varied, my primary areas of said interest tend toward art; fashion and costume; and that which sits or sprawls somewhere between them. I have a Diploma in Performance Technology, Majoring in Wardrobe/Costume; and you might say a Doctorate in being indecisive with post graduate honors in being not entirely sure what I want to do. Welcome to my musings on life, fashion and other things. etc.
This entry was posted in Art and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

