Raglan Sleeved Tee shirts

Now it could be just that I haven’t looked around properly, or something to do with where I live, but there seems to be a depressing lack of Raglan Sleeve tee shirts around.

If you have no idea what I’m talking about, a raglan sleeve is one that isn’t set into an ‘arm hole’ as such, but rather the whole shoulder section of the tee is part of the sleeve, which usually joins to the body with a diagonal seam running from under the arm up into the neck. The sleeve actually makes up part of the ‘neck hole’.

https://i1.wp.com/www.promotionalpromo.com/Upfiles/Prod_i/T_Shirt___Great_Republic_Underground_Raglan_Tee_Men_s_Short_Sleeves_7056.jpgNow the reason I really like raglan sleeve tee shirts is two fold: first I like the somehow retro look of them. And secondly I like the fit and the lines they create. I like the way they define the chest, which as quite a ‘slim’ guy is rather helpful ;D Also it shapes the shoulder, giving it an organic, curved, muscular shape that isn’t cut up or made angular by seams. Personally I prefer the monotone over the contrasting duo-tone shirts, but that’s just preference.

AC/DC Classic Logo Diamante Tee by Amplified VintageOn the other hand of course, the ‘standard’ tee does extend the line of the torso and chest up to the shoulder point, giving that strong masculine wedge shape. But in doing so sacrifices some of the strength of the shoulder, I feel.

So what do we think? Have I won you over? 😉

About tobias 'lockhart'

Hello there, I’m Tobias. I’m male; in my late 20s, straight and eccentric. I’m finally beginning to accept that I’m really not your typical bloke; but that’s probably alright. Although my interests are many and varied, my primary areas of said interest tend toward art; fashion and costume; and that which sits or sprawls somewhere between them. I have a Diploma in Performance Technology, Majoring in Wardrobe/Costume; and you might say a Doctorate in being indecisive with post graduate honors in being not entirely sure what I want to do. Welcome to my musings on life, fashion and other things. etc.
This entry was posted in Clothing, Fashion and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

