A new painting

Katie (pseudo classical version)I’ve spent the last couple of days working on a painting, well finishing it and then carrying on playing with it haha.

I was inspired to do said painting when I came across this awesome photo on an acquaintance’s facebook page, and it really made me want to do a painting. So obviously in the end I did, and this is the most complete version so far.

I’m in two minds about it, I do quite like the sort of pseudo classical look of it, but then there’s something nagging me about it, like the dress is too ‘princessy’ haha I guess in a sense that’s good, it contrasts stylistically with the bright red hair.

But I’m also playing with a more Gothic version, making the blue fabric darker and less saturated. Trying some lace too, which is proving to be an ‘interesting’ exercise to paint. In fact in the end I put the lace idea aside and started fiddling with some different collar ideas. But I’m not happy with any of that yet, so we’ll see.

Anyway, the image is composed of:

  • a photo which was rotated to square it up and the background removed.
  • New soft textured background painted in;
  • Her right arm (at left of frame, obviously) had to be painted in as it had been cropped;
  • Ridiculous puff sleeves painted, leaving the singlet top she was wearing in the pic almost entirely unchanged;
  • Necklace painted in;
  • Her skin and hair are a blend of the original photo + filtered versions (various blur and median effects etc) + layers of ‘art history bush’ and standard paint brush;
  • Colours/levels tweaked.

All done in Photoshop CS2

Thanks so much to Katie for letting me use the original photo, which was such a great starting point 😀

About tobias 'lockhart'

Hello there, I’m Tobias. I’m male; in my late 20s, straight and eccentric. I’m finally beginning to accept that I’m really not your typical bloke; but that’s probably alright. Although my interests are many and varied, my primary areas of said interest tend toward art; fashion and costume; and that which sits or sprawls somewhere between them. I have a Diploma in Performance Technology, Majoring in Wardrobe/Costume; and you might say a Doctorate in being indecisive with post graduate honors in being not entirely sure what I want to do. Welcome to my musings on life, fashion and other things. etc.
This entry was posted in Art and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to A new painting

  1. Pingback: ‘A new painting’ revisited: the same but different, and gothic’ish | Eclectic Thoughts

Leave a Reply

