What is it with me and Gothic’esque girls?

Hello all, I hope I find you well 😀

I watched The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo today.  A little strange, but I kinda liked it. Actually, I really enjoyed it. It seems to me, from my limited experience, that there’s something about Swedish film, I’m not sure what it is exactly, but it’s something different and I really like it.

Anyway, the girl in it! Wow, so screwed up and strange and yet I found something about her incredibly sexy and appealing :p Now, as I’ve said before, in reality a girl like this would probably scare the living daylights out of me. And I’m not a huge fan of all the piercings and tattoos either, I like my women unmarred by unnatural markings and hardware, although I guess there could be exceptions :p But still, something about her is intriguing, different; eccentric; exotic; dramatic! And I love her jacket, so cool! I really like the fact that it’s not just your cliched studded biker jacket. It’s got these tiny little studs on it, and some of them missing which adds to that lovely worn, weathered appearance, so grungy, love it ;D

Even though there’s something hard edged and aggressive about her, she is still somehow beautiful… well, a bit :p I don’t know, at least from a costume/fashion point of view she’s truly very striking I think. As I say, if I met someone like this I’d probably be scared and if I did manage to get past the meeting stage, I’d most likely get pretty sick of all the perpetual dark stuff. But hey, from a distance I find her aesthetically intriguing.

It does get me thinking however. Why is it we’re attracted to people we shouldn’t? People who in some way tick all the boxes of things we don’t really like? This girl for example: Facial jewelry, not so keen, tick! Tattoo, not really my thing, bit of a turn off really, tick! Smokes, ick! I’m not snogging a chimney thanks, tick! Oh and extreme anger issues (even if she can justify it kinda), mmm bit frightening, tick. And yet somehow a little voice in my head says “Mmmm she is well hot!”. I guess someone can be ‘hot’ without you wanting to get involved with them, well of course they can.

But then I’ve had the same thing with some of the girls I’ve had crushes on in the past. I’m not talking about just ‘oooh she’s attractive’, but ridiculous, mind consuming crushes 😉 Who knows, maybe it’s just an extreme version of wanting what I can’t have? Not just what I cant have, but what I won’t let myself have! I hope not, because that would be well screwed up haha

I think it’s partly that I’m attracted to interesting; alternative; creative girls. And for some reason, who knows why, with all that you seem to often get a whole load of extra baggage that I don’t want :p Be it cigarettes; alcohol abuse; drugs; cutting, they’re really not my thing, and I can’t hack watching someone I care for doing those things.

Ah, some day the perfect woman will come along, with just the right amount of creative eccentricity; just the right little bit of crazy; and an adequate supply of sane haha ;p

Till next time,

x

 

 

About tobias 'lockhart'

Hello there, I’m Tobias. I’m male; in my late 20s, straight and eccentric. I’m finally beginning to accept that I’m really not your typical bloke; but that’s probably alright. Although my interests are many and varied, my primary areas of said interest tend toward art; fashion and costume; and that which sits or sprawls somewhere between them. I have a Diploma in Performance Technology, Majoring in Wardrobe/Costume; and you might say a Doctorate in being indecisive with post graduate honors in being not entirely sure what I want to do. Welcome to my musings on life, fashion and other things. etc.
This entry was posted in Clothing, Costume, Fashion, Thoughts and Musings and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

