I must say, the Doctor doesn’t half have style!

Just a little something I did while I was bored. Inspired by my friend Katie’s profile pic and by the ‘A Hard Days Night’ album cover of course. I love this kind of retro, perhaps slightly ‘lomography’ style of photo / photo series. I’ve been playing with the idea of a hypothetical ‘Dr. Who’ (the old one’s I mean) inspired fashion collection, especially the whole long scarf thing. I can’t remember which doctor it was now, but I’m sure someone will know what I mean :p So this is a sort of Gothic; grunge; doctor mash up. Oh the pretentiousness!

Anyway, speaking of the Doctor, I’ve been watching Dr. Who lately. Sort of marathoning through it. I took a little while to take to it, something to do with the cheesy plot etc and I didn’t exactly like Christopher Eccleston. I’m not sure why, but oh well, I got used to him and started to really enjoy the show. Actually I didn’t like Billy Piper to begin with either. But then came David Tennant! Now maybe you like him, maybe you don’t (personally I think he’s great), but the costume! Oh his costumes are wonderful 😀 I just love that long overcoat. What do you think, tweed? Whatever, it’s cool. I love how it’s both kinda sweeping; imposing; mysterious; monster kicking hero and yet refined and wonderfully British 😉 We all know how much I love things that are British. I also really like how his nice suits and the aforementioned beautiful coat are toned down and made a little… grunge, by just the simple addition of Chucks (or whatever brand of similar Canvas Sneekers they might be). I read somewhere, wish I could remember where, that he got the idea from Jamie Oliver haha!

DrWho_RoseUnionTee01

Rose Tyler's Union Flag Tee (from BBC TV series 'Doctor Who')

Also, having mentioned, nay confessed to my Anglophilia, here’s a couple of things I came across lately. Just LOVE stuff with Union Flags on it :p

 

DeadLikeMe_UnionGloves01

Mason's Union flag Gloves (from TV series 'Dead Like Me')

 

 

 

 

 

 

Till next time,

x x

 

About tobias 'lockhart'

Hello there, I’m Tobias. I’m male; in my late 20s, straight and eccentric. I’m finally beginning to accept that I’m really not your typical bloke; but that’s probably alright. Although my interests are many and varied, my primary areas of said interest tend toward art; fashion and costume; and that which sits or sprawls somewhere between them. I have a Diploma in Performance Technology, Majoring in Wardrobe/Costume; and you might say a Doctorate in being indecisive with post graduate honors in being not entirely sure what I want to do. Welcome to my musings on life, fashion and other things. etc.
This entry was posted in Clothing, Cool things, Fashion and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to I must say, the Doctor doesn’t half have style!

  1. puff says:

    Yay masons gloves! I have a feeling it was the third or fourth with the scarf. I have a handy infographic somewhere…also yes, tennant is the bomb diddy

    • Haha I know, brilliant! Absolutely smashing 😀
      Ah yes, that sounds about right, although I think there may have been two who had the scarf, one was all sorts of horrid coloured stripes all mixed together, the other was just two colours, Yellow and Burgundy, sort of like… Quidich scarfs? Only cooler ;p Maybe the latter was from one of the TV movies or something. But yes, Tennant is very much the bomb diddy HA!

  2. Fae says:

    His jacket may also be suede or wool. Wool seems more likely to be the right material. I have a small obsession with David Tennant, and am going to a convention next april as a female 10th doctor. His brown suit the first day, blue the second, and I’m steampunking the third day in a tardis blue outfit. Really hope it comes out the way I’m wanting. I’m have to pretty much free hand make everything because I don’t know how to use patterns. With the way my mind works if I see it, I can make it.

    • Hello there, sorry I took a while to reply, I’m afraid I don’t really use this blog anymore, having moved over to another platform.

      Anyway I wouldn’t think it’s suede, you never know of course, but yes, I’d be more inclined toward wool, which tweed is. That would be the traditional material, or perhaps camel hair.
      He’s pretty awesome isn’t he? I’ve seen him in a couple of other films and he’s always brilliant. Oh that all sounds awesome! There’s an interesting story about, I think it was the blue suit, it was actually made from several pairs of trousers they found on sale somewhere! So the rumor goes anyway.

      Well good luck!

Leave a Reply

