Brogues and the Country Gentleman

Sure it’s slightly louche, but I just love the relaxed, grunging down of classic style. I especially dig those brogues.

I’m really loving that touch of classic gentleman look at the moment. Anything that is reminiscent of a golden age when men really looked sharp at every occasion. Maybe a bit of tweed, a nice blazer perhaps. Or some good brogues. Even if they’re brogue sneakers 😀 As my friend Mr. Puffington puts it, “I want the hell out of these”.

 

 

 

 

 

I think it was my little fall fashion shoot that got me in the mood for the English country gent look. Did I just say fall?! I’m just going outside now to beat myself with something blunt until I’m all the colours of the union flag! Gosh do I have no shame?

Anyway, I’m digging this, Ralph Lauren Fall 2010. Rather Bertie Wooster don’t you think?

One day I’ll have a car (and learn to drive, overcoming my fear of killing someone with a high-speed metal box on wheels) and I shall own a country estate and dress in wonderful tweeds. I’ll invite you out to the country for the weekend, what a smashing time we’ll have. I say Tally ho! chaps.

That reminds me, I do love Bertie’s car!  A 1928 Aston Martin 1½ Litre International apparently. Isn’t she a beauty?

But back to where I stared, it occurs to me that this modern, more casual and relaxed age does bring comfort and freedom, which many may argue more than makes up for loss in style. While I do reluctantly agree, I also grieve a bit for the bygone age of suits, not just for business but for recreation and relaxation. There was a certain class and romance about it one can’t help feeling. I do however comfort myself with the thought that this kind of gentlemanly style and relaxed comfort are not mutually exclusive (is that the right phrase?).

As demonstrated a little in my post apropos Doctor Who and again here by Mr. Depp, weather you love him or hate him (and his outfits, you have to admit that with the right kind of attitude and so on, you can combine classic style with comfort! Blending gentlemanly attire with a more layed back, devil may care (but I don’t) air of utter relaxation. Despite these fast times a suit need not make one look like a ‘square’ ;p

Then there are those that may well scorn this concoction, considering it crass, and in a certain mood I might be among them, but right now I applaud it, this grungy, pick and mix Suavepunk.

It’s like a cocktail; take the ingredients you like, shake them up; and serve with a slice of panache :p

Well, that’s about it although I may add some more pictures to illustrate what I’m trying to say (when I fully realize what that might be).

But until next time,

xx

About tobias 'lockhart'

Hello there, I’m Tobias. I’m male; in my late 20s, straight and eccentric. I’m finally beginning to accept that I’m really not your typical bloke; but that’s probably alright. Although my interests are many and varied, my primary areas of said interest tend toward art; fashion and costume; and that which sits or sprawls somewhere between them. I have a Diploma in Performance Technology, Majoring in Wardrobe/Costume; and you might say a Doctorate in being indecisive with post graduate honors in being not entirely sure what I want to do. Welcome to my musings on life, fashion and other things. etc.
This entry was posted in Clothing, Cool things, Costume, Fashion, Thoughts and Musings and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Brogues and the Country Gentleman

  1. Chris Honey says:

    Suavepunk. Fantastic! You’re truly a gentleman and a scholar Sir Lockheart!

  2. Brogues are great. They will never go out of fashion. I prefer plain black ones but the black and white ones in your picture look great too – though I could never wear them.

    • Aren’t they just?! Interesting history too, I remember reading once that they were invented to provide drainage in the shoes of shepherds who had to keep stepping in and out of bogs and the like to rescue sheep. How true that is I’m not sure, but rather an amusing story none the less.
      Yes, plain black is always a safe and classic option, with any footwear really. I suspect I couldn’t pluck up the courage to wear the duo-tone ones myself either, they are rather a statement piece 😀 But, as you say, they do look great.
      Anyway, thanks for stopping by and commenting. Very much appreciated.

Leave a Reply

