Look at all those patterns!

Don’t they just do your head in?

©2010 - Tobias 'Lockhart'

Lately I’ve been playing around with patterns in photoshop, working mostly with rotational symmetry (as well as some reflectional symmetry). What I find fascinating about this kind of thing is the way that you can start with just one line/squiggle/shape/etc (see below) and, by copying and rotating this shape around a point, come up with a wheel shape, which can then in turn be rotated again, and again and so on, so as to create ever more complex shapes through this iteration.

I may at some point post the Photoshop actions I have created to automate this process, if anyone is actually interested.

©2010 - Tobias 'Lockhart'

 

About tobias 'lockhart'

Hello there, I’m Tobias. I’m male; straight and eccentric. I’m finally beginning to accept that I’m really not your typical bloke; but that’s probably alright. Although my interests are many and varied, my primary areas of said interest tend toward art; fashion and costume; and that which sits or sprawls somewhere between them. I have a Diploma in Performance Technology, Majoring in Wardrobe/Costume; and you might say a Doctorate in being indecisive with post graduate honors in being not entirely sure what I want to do. Welcome to my musings on life, fashion and other things. etc.
This entry was posted in Art, Cool things and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Look at all those patterns!

  1. gg77n says:

    Very interesting process, with amazing results!

Leave a comment